Offices: London, United Kingdom
Re alleged services of Grundberg Mocatta Rakison LLP in relation to properties advertised for sale on web sites
As a consequence of a merger on 1st May 2009, the trading name of Grundberg Mocatta Rakison LLP ceased to be used. Since that date it is a part of a US firm called McGuireWoods LLP and the London firm now trades as McGuireWoods London LLP.
We have recently become aware that there a quite a few persons, who having advertised their properties on a Web Site (including but not limited to www.postyourproperty.co.uk), receive an offer from a person who states that he or she wishes to use the services of Grundberg Mocatta Rakison LLP. We suggest you have nothing further to do with this person.
The new firm uses the same address as the old. You will note that the “purchaser” uses a UK mobile phone number. This number has nothing to do with this firm. It is routed overseas.
You may also be sent by email a copy of a UK passport as an ID of the purchaser. It is highly likely that if it is like the one we have seen, it is a forgery.
On no account send copies of your passport or other ID to the proposed purchaser. Do not send your bank details and do not use the email address given as it is not the email address of this firm, but that of a fraudster. Please carry out a search against the domain name and it is likely that this will confirm the country of origin of this fraud.
We have reported this matter to the Police. We are doing our best to stop this fraud, but in the meantime, we suggest that you should have no dealings with anyone on the internet, who makes a tempting, but unusual offer on your property.
February 2010
McGuireWoods London LLP
15-19 Kingsway London WC2B 6UN
For further information call 020 7632 1623

Back to
London Office