Virginia’s New Laws Impacting Solar Development

Legislative Updates, Opportunities and Potential Risks

May 28, 2020

Register

Webinar

12 – 1 p.m. (ET) |11 a.m. – 12 p.m. (CT) | 9 – 10 a.m. (PT)

The 2020 Virginia General Assembly session likely will be remembered as a watershed moment for energy policy in Virginia. The commonwealth enacted new legislation — the Virginia Clean Economy Act — that sets forth an aggressive schedule for utilities to increase the amount of energy they source from renewable energy generation facilities. To meet these clean energy goals, the General Assembly passed important legislation that will become effective July 1, 2020 and will provide more opportunities for developers of large-scale solar energy projects to successfully obtain local land use approvals. These opportunities may also carry financial risks for an uninformed solar developer.

Join us for a discussion on how the VCEA and other legislation will be implemented, what it means for developing solar projects on the ground, and what difference it will make from past practices.

Topics

  • Legislative updates
  • Siting agreements for solar facilities in “opportunity zones”
  • Energy revenue share ordinances
  • Newly authorized conditions for special exception permits
  • Modifications to current machinery and tools tax exemptions

McGuireWoods Speakers

Back to top