Essential Contract Law Update With Professor Peel

March 18, 2021

Register

Zoom Call

4pm-6pm (GMT) | 12pm-2pm (ET) | 11am-1pm (CT) | 9am-11am (PT)

Join McGuireWoods and Professor Ed Peel for an Essential Contract Law Update. Professor Peel, of the University of Oxford and One Essex Court, is widely regarded as the leading authority in this area. He will cover important developments in English contract law over the past 12-18 months, discuss current issues and trends, and provide attendees with practical solutions.

Following Professor Peel’s presentation, there will be a practical Q&A session hosted by McGuireWoods partners William Boddy and Simon Hems, with McGuireWoods lawyers from multiple practice areas discussing key takeaways and taking questions about the likely impact of those developments.

The programme, which will be held virtually, is designed for anyone involved in drafting and negotiating contracts, managing disputes relating to contracts, or otherwise dealing with contracts governed by English law, and will be of particular interest to in-house counsel.

The session will provide two hours of CPD, and CLE applications can be made as applicable. Detailed notes will be provided to attendees after the programme as a useful takeaway.

About the Speaker
Ed Peel is a professor in the University of Oxford Faculty of Law and is a practising barrister at One Essex Court. He is the author of “Treitel on the Law of Contract”, contributes to Halsbury's Laws of England, and is the editor of a number of other works. He regularly advises on or appears in leading contract law matters, including Supreme Court cases Cavendish Square Holding BV v Makdessi (regarding the rule against penalties); Tiuta International Ltd v De Villiers Surveyors Ltd (dealing with causation and recovery of loss); and Morris-Garner v One Step (Support) Ltd (regarding “negotiating damages” for breach of restrictive covenants).


Please note that this webinar will be recorded and made available to clients, contacts and employees of McGuireWoods who registered for this event for a period of seven days after the live broadcast. This means that your participation in the webinar may be recorded and viewed by others.

Our programs are intended for the benefit of our clients and contacts and we reserve the right to refuse any registration at our sole discretion.

 

Back to top