Big Changes Ahead for Civil Appeals in Virginia

What You Need to Know About the New Appellate Rules

October 27, 2021

Register

WEBINAR

12-1:30 p.m. (ET) | 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (CT) | 9-10:30 a.m. (PT)

Earlier this year, the Virginia General Assembly passed Senate Bill 1261. Starting Jan. 1, 2022, civil litigants will have an appeal of right for final judgments to the Court of Appeals of Virginia. Associated jurisdictional and rule changes will significantly alter the appellate landscape in Virginia state courts, with ramifications for both appellate and trial court proceedings. The Supreme Court of Virginia is expected to publish the new rules for the Supreme Court of Virginia and the Court of Appeals this month. 

Join McGuireWoods attorneys as they discuss these appellate jurisdictional and rule changes and provide tips for trial and appellate lawyers.

McGuireWoods Panelists

Who Should Attend
Executives, in-house counsel, government employees, lawyers, and anyone else interested in learning more about upcoming Virginia appellate rules changes

Login details will be sent to registrants before the event.

CLE credit applications will be made on your behalf. 

For more information contact Sara de Cerff.


Our programs are intended for the benefit of our clients and contacts and we reserve the right to refuse any registration at our sole discretion.

Back to top